Tags

, , , , , ,

20140206-171934.jpg

In this dystopian world, people aren’t given freedom of choice.

Not that they aren’t happy. Their jobs are chosen for them, but the Society knows best, right? Each of their meals are put together by nutritionists each day because how should they know what’s good for them and what’s not? And no one questions the Matching Banquet, where young adults are paired with what are, statistically and scientifically speaking, their perfect match.

Why should they question the system when everything is perfect?

Cassia doesn’t question it. That is, not at first.

Everything in her life is seemingly wonderful. At the Matching Banquet, her best friend, Xander, appears on the screen, and she couldn’t be happier. The match couldn’t be more perfect.

She believes this until she sees another face flash across the screen: Ky’s.

Cassia has to battle against her heart, her emotions, her thoughts. Because ever since she saw Ky’s face, she’s been doubting. Doubting that Xander is truly her best match. Doubting the possible vocation that the Society is pushing her towards. Most of all, however, she is doubting the integrity of the Society and the “perfect” choices they are supposedly making for the citizens.

Firecracker Scale: rated “Flame”

Cassia and Ky share a few kisses.

It’s funny, because this is a dystopian trilogy. But, of course, you have your romance; and I must say that this may be one of my favorite love triangles.

Love triangles have become so exhausting, and this literary strategy has been overdone and overused. However this wasn’t so overwhelming that I wanted to quit; although, I did find myself getting frustrated with Cassia because she was so indecisive. Based on what I knew of the two boys, I knew for certain which one I would have chosen. But I suppose you don’t really know unless you walk in someone’s shoes, and Cassia and Ky’s situation was a compromising one.

I was absolutely in love with Ky. He was so innocent and kind and quiet. Xander was adorable, but for some reason, I felt drawn to Ky and his mysterious nature.

Tongue Scale: rated “Rewarding Pat on the Back”

I was also impressed by the fact that this book had no swear words that I can recall. I normally try to keep track when I know I’m going to review a book, but I never noted any while reading Matched.

Gore Gauge: rated “Fist Fight”

Maybe. Maybe.

I quite liked this book, which was sort of unexpected, considering the awful things I’ve heard about Crossed and Reached, number 2 and 3 of the Matched trilogy.

They aren’t bad, exactly. I’ve just heard that they are both incredibly boring. However, I can’t vouch for that myself because I haven’t read them. (I do have Crossed waiting on my desk to be read, though….)

Sooooo, I’m going to go read that, now.

Love,

Harper

